Squishy vs Crunchy

I have been in search of the perfect game since I started playing RPG’s. Maybe upwards of the last 15 years I have been chasing narrative games systems and running away from crunchy systems. Recently, I ran Worlds of Peril, a PbtA game.

Worlds of Peril is a super hero game system, that’s frickin’ brilliant in how it handles powers. Love it, but here’s the thing it is just too squishy for my players, and myself too if I’m honest. I am also running Blade in the Dark another brilliant game system that is squishy too. That said, one of my player’s loves it, and a power gamer no less. PbtA system of the GM’s applying damage to players when they miss, is… tough.

Crunchy games like Champions (shudder) and D&D are way to rule heavy for me. Whereas Blades and Worlds of Peril are too squishy. Is there a medium crunch narrative game out there? I don’t know. Maybe, the Genesys system or Cortex Prime. I am just reading cortex prime rules now and they seem to have potential. The Genesys system, seem to as well, but I have yet to understand it enough to give it a try.

Suggestion or thoughts?

1 Like

For superheroes spicificly I can’t recommend Icons the assembled edition enough! Been running if a few years now and love it.

Isn’t that a very FATE inspired game? Why did you chose it, if you do not mind my asking?

I have tried a couple of FATE superhero games, but found there is a dog piling tactic. All the players would accumulate bonuses in the form of aspects and gift them to one player who would then slap down the villain. This was good in some ways and encouraged by the system, but it felt very repetitive.

1 Like

Steve credits fudge but it also takes a lot of ideas from the old tsr marvel heroes game. I know fate comes from fudge but I’m not sure what the differences are.

I’ve never really liked fate. Icons qualities wok kind of like aspects but the team up mechanic has limits.