My Foray into Call of Cthulhu at the Local Convention

Most of my convention games of Call of Cthulhu have been pretty good, but this weekend’s games gave me some food for thought on Call of Cthulhu as a game system, genre, and what has and hasn’t worked for cosmic horror gaming for me in the past.

I’ve had some kinda meh experiences with Call of Cthulhu. Granted I haven’t played much of it and I think it lends itself too much to a really slow build of mystery, and if you don’t come up with “the right way” to investigate the clues you end up spinning your wheels for a while.

Conversely, someone ran a kids only call of Cthulhu game at Gary Con that my son was in and I’ve never seen such an exuberant table. Watching them play was pure magic.

I think horror games at a convention setting have some pros and cons. Pro because you typically don’t know the other players so there is a meta level of unease around strangers which can be used to ratchet up tension, but on the other hand you rarely are able to set an appropriate mood in a hall with a dozen other loud tables in a brightly lit room.

I played in a game with the guy who runs Campaign Coins, and it was tricky because the other tables were loud and the character exposition took forever, but since the game went late, the other tables left for the night, and the gm turned the lights down really low and used our and quiet voice to try to startle and build dread and it was getting really good. At that point it was the best of both worlds, uncertainty with other players but still a intimate setting where the atmospherics could be controlled for effect.

1 Like

I’m not a big CoC guy either. I agree that a lot of times the “right way” path is an issue. There are outs, such as the Alexandrian’s Three Clue Rule, or Gumshoes “you can’t NOT find the clue, so long as you looked for it”.