How Do You Cope with Burnout?

This is a topic that has been on my mind lately. I am in the middle of burnout on D&D 5E, but really, I have been playing tabletop games for 36 years and burn out happens. It confounds me though to know I have been through this before and I still struggle with how to deal with it. This is a topic I have noticed a few of us dealing with at the moment and I thought it might be therapeutic to toss the topic around for a bit.
How do you cope with gaming burnout (specific games, or gaming in general)? The easy answer is to play something else but is it really that easy? How do you identify exactly what is causing the burnout? I thought I was mixing complexity in D&D 5E but when I tried more complex fantasy RPGs, I found that wasn’t the issue at all.

2 Likes

For what it’s worth, my own recent burnout apparently was tied to group and its expectations regarding the game. In other words, I quit D&D, now all is well! :grin:

3 Likes

Heck, that might be part of the problem too. I thought the problem was a lack of complexity in D&D 5E and when I switched to a crunchier system (Pathfinder 2E), I still wasn’t satisfied. We thought maybe we just needed a change of scenery so the group tried out 13th Age, still no good. I can’t keep dragging the group around. That’s not fair to them. So I dropped from the ongoing game while I tried to figure out where the burnout was really coming from.

For me, I stop GMing. I’ll take a break from running the games I run and I either focus my time on other escapes (video games, minis games) or I browbeat one of my other players who can GM to run a game. A lot of times that refreshes me. I’ve also found that fresh blood to the group or a pivot in the current campaign is also a nice palate cleanser. I’m running two games on alternating Saturday nights and one had a player shuffle and the other is pivoting to a different setting and my feelings on both of those games has greatly improved.