313 Changing How You GM

An introspective episode on how Sean wants to become a better game master. Maybe you’ve considered making a change.

• What would lead you to change how you game master?
  • What things do you want to eliminate from your style?
  • What aspects would you want to start incorporating more into your role-playing games?
  • Do you have a plan on implementing your changes?

http://gamingandbs.com/313

Next week we’ll talk about no winners or losers in rpg’s.

6 Likes

Glancing at the show notes, I just was sent Same Page Tool by one of my players last week, spurred by a conversation we had about the old “are goblins evil or do we want a nuanced game”. I liked it. Simple, smooth, and a great conversation starter.

2 Likes

Great episode gentleman! I enjoyed hearing the ideas on how to change, update, or improve your GMing style. As I listened I wondered if playing in games as a player and not the GM helps you add to your style? As a newbie, I have been trying to play in as many games as I can so I understand the systems I want to GM better. And at the same time logging away the techniques the GM is using to see if it would fit the style I am trying to form. I just received “The Hidden Necropolis” and look forward to running this and trying some new GMing styles I want to try. One other point I really found refreshing for this episode is you both have many years of GMing under your belt. And you are open to change if you need or want too. For me, this helps me to remember it is okay to change what you are doing if it’s not working for you. Thanks for your dedication and keep up the great content. Mike

3 Likes